Madeira is a sub-tropical archipelago in the Atlantic Ocean and is an autonomous region of Portugal. The archipelago is made up of two populated islands, Madeira and Porto Santo, and two groups of unpopulated islands called the Desertas and Selvagens Islands.

Madeira Photos


Popular Destinations

Funchal is the capital and main city, of the autonomous region of Madeira, on the island of Madeira, in the south between Santa Cruz and Camara de Lobos cities.


Porto da Cruz is a village on the northeast corner of the island of Madeira in Portugal.

Paul do Mar is a parish in the municipality of Calheta in Madeira in Portugal.

Porto Santo is the northernmost and easternmost island in Portugal's Madeira archipelago in the Atlantic Ocean.

Calheta is on the southwest coast of Madeira. Whilst in Calheta town consider visiting the historic, picturesque fishing villages of Paul do Mar and Jardim do Mar which were venues in 2001 for the World Surfing Championships.

Machico is the second biggest city in Madeira Island.


Madeira Hotels

My Destination
Travel Dates

Maps of Madeira

Other Names for Madeira

  • English:  Autonomous Region of Madeira
  • French:  Madère
  • Região Autónoma da Madeira

In Other Languages

For More Information

Thanks for Sharing

About Mapcarta. Site powered by Around Guides. Based on the page Madeira. See this page's contributions. Text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License.
Photos provided by Flickr under the copyright of their owners. This product uses the Flickr API but is not endorsed or certified by Flickr. Please contact us if you'd prefer to remove your Flickr photos from Mapcarta.