Rome, the 'Eternal City', is the capital and largest city of Italy and of the Lazio region. It's the famed city of the Roman Empire, the Seven Hills, La Dolce Vita, the Vatican City and Three Coins in the Fountain.

Rome Photos


Popular Destinations

The Vatican City is the world center of Catholicism.

Old Rome is the historic medieval and renaissance center of Rome.

The South of Rome includes the historic Appian Way and nearby catacombs, as well as important tourist attractions in EUR, and San Paolo.


North Central Rome is a district that covers the areas around Piazza di Spagna, Piazza del Popolo and Parioli, as well as the magnificent Villa Borghese and its gardens.

The Modern Center of Rome, home to the Via Veneto, Quirinale, Castro Pretorio, Repubblica, and Trevi neighborhoods, is the city's hub of activity, especially shopping and nightlife.

Trastevere is a district in Rome. The district's name derives from the Latin words "Trans Tiberem": beyond the Tiber river.

The Colosseo district is the heart of ancient Rome and the Roman Empire.

Aventino and Testaccio are neighborhoods of Rome. Aventino is named for the hill which rises up near the Tiber river and is one of the legendary seven hills of Rome.

Esquilino and San Giovanni are adjacent neighborhoods in Rome.

Nomentano is a district of Rome, comprising the entirety of Municipio III.

The North of Rome is comprised of Municipi 4, 15–20.


Rome Hotels

Travel Dates

Maps of Rome

Other Names for Rome

  • Albanian:  Roma, Romë
  • Amharic:  ሮማ
  • Arabic:  روما
  • Aragonese:  Roma
  • Armenian:  Հռոմ
  • Arpitan:  Roma
  • Asturian:  Roma
  • Basque:  Erroma
  • Belarusian:  Рым
  • Bosnian:  Rim
  • Breton:  Roma
  • Bulgarian:  Рим
  • Catalan:  Roma
  • Chinese:  罗马市
  • Church Slavic:  Римъ
  • Chuvash:  Рим
  • Cornish:  Rom
  • Croatian:  Rim
  • Czech:  Řím
  • Danish:  Rom
  • Esperanto:  Romo
  • Estonian:  Rooma
  • Finnish:  Rooma
  • Galician:  Roma
  • Georgian:  რომი
  • German:  Rom
  • Greek:  Ρώμη
  • Hebrew:  רומא
  • Hindi:  रोम
  • Hungarian:  Róma
  • Icelandic:  Róm
  • Ido:  Roma
  • Indonesian:  Roma
  • Interlingua (International Auxiliary Language Association):  Roma
  • Irish:  An Róimh
  • Italian:  Roma
  • Japanese:  ローマ
  • Korean:  로마
  • Latin:  Roma, Urbs
  • Latvian:  Roma
  • Limburgan:  Roeme
  • Lithuanian:  Roma
  • Low German:  Rom
  • Luxembourgish:  Roum
  • Macedonian:  Рим
  • Malay (macrolanguage):  Rom
  • Marathi:  रोम
  • Mongolian:  Ром
  • Neapolitan:  Romma
  • Norwegian:  Roma
  • Norwegian Nynorsk:  Roma
  • Occitan (post 1500):  Roma
  • Official Aramaic (700-300 BCE):  ܪܘܡܐ
  • Ossetian:  Рим
  • Persian:  رم
  • Piemontese:  Roma
  • Polish:  Rzym
  • Portuguese:  Roma
  • Quechua:  Roma
  • Romagnol:  Råmma
  • Romanian:  Roma
  • Romansh:  Roma
  • Russian:  Рим
  • Sanskrit:  रोमा
  • Sardinian:  Roma
  • Scottish Gaelic:  An Ròimh
  • Serbian:  Рим
  • Serbo-Croatian:  Rim
  • Sicilian:  Roma
  • Slovak:  Rím
  • Slovenian:  Rim
  • Spanish:  Roma
  • Swahili (macrolanguage):  Mji wa Roma
  • Swedish:  Rom
  • Tagalog:  Lungsod ng Roma, Roma
  • Tahitian:  Roma
  • Thai:  โรม
  • Tok Pisin:  Roma
  • Tosk Albanian:  Rom
  • Turkish:  Roma
  • Twi:  Roma
  • Uighur:  رىم
  • Ukrainian:  Рим
  • Urdu:  روم
  • Venetian:  Roma
  • Vietnamese:  Roma
  • Volapük:  Roma
  • Welsh:  Rhufain, Roma

In Other Languages

For More Information

Thanks for Sharing

About Mapcarta. Site powered by Around Guides. Based on the page Rome. See this page's contributions. Text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License.
Photos provided by Flickr under the copyright of their owners. This product uses the Flickr API but is not endorsed or certified by Flickr. Please contact us if you'd prefer to remove your Flickr photos from Mapcarta.