South Sudan

South Sudan is a country in . It was a region of until it became an independent country on 9 July 2011 after a referendum was held in January that year.

South Sudan Map

Popular Destinations

is a fast-growing city and capital of , which gained its independence from Sudan in 2011.


is in . The name of the region, , comes from the same name of the river.

South Sudan

Other Names for South Sudan

  • Arabic: جمهورية جنوب السودان
  • Arabic: جنوب السودان
  • Chinese: 南苏丹
  • Dutch: Zuid-Soedan
  • English: Republic of South Sudan
  • Estonian: Lõuna-Sudaan
  • Estonian: Lõuna-Sudaani Vabariik
  • Finnish: Etelä-Sudan
  • French: Soudan du Sud
  • French: Sud-Soudan
  • German: Südsudan
  • Greek: Δημοκρατία του Νότιου Σουδάν
  • Greek: Νότιο Σουδάν
  • Icelandic: Suður-Súdan
  • Italian: Sudan del Sud
  • Japanese: 南スーダン
  • Japanese: 南スーダン共和国
  • Korean: 남수단
  • Kurdish: Sûdana Başûr
  • Lithuanian: Pietų Sudanas
  • Norwegian: Republikken Sør-Sudan
  • Norwegian: Sør-Sudan
  • Persian: جمهوری سودان جنوبی
  • Persian: سودان جنوبی
  • Polish: Sudan Południowy
  • Portuguese: República do Sudão do Sul
  • Portuguese: Sudão do Sul
  • Russian: Южный Судан
  • Spanish: República de Sudán del Sur
  • Spanish: Sudán del Sur
  • Swedish: Republiken Sydsudan
  • Swedish: Sydsudan
  • Ukrainian: Південний Судан
  • Urdu: جمہوریہ جنوبی سوڈان
  • Urdu: جنوبی سوڈان
I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel's sake. The great affair is to move.

Your World is Without Borders

Popular Destinations in Central Africa

About Mapcarta. Thanks to Mapbox and Esri for providing amazing maps. Text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License, excluding directions and the map. Based on the page South Sudan. See this page's contributions.