The Lothians

The Lothians is the collective name for the three counties of Midlothian, East Lothian and West Lothian in the of Scotland. They're all lowland in nature, heavily populated around Edinburgh, and bounded to the north by the Firth of Forth, to the south by the Lammermuir hills.

Popular Destinations

is the capital of located in the region of the country.

The of Edinburgh represents the historical extension of the Scottish capital to the north of the that occurred during the Georgian Period of the late 18th century.

The of Edinburgh represents the historic core of the Scottish capital, built eastwards of the Castle Crag, along the Royal Mile to Holyrood.

is the port district of the capital of , located to the north of the city centre on the shoreline of the Firth of Forth.


is a small town 10 miles west and upriver of in central Scotland.

is a large town in in the central belt of Scotland, built as a "New Town" from 1963.

is a small town in the , .

is a small town on the coast of in central Scotland.

is the largest town in in central Scotland, six miles east of Edinburgh city centre.

is a harbour town in , on the south-east coast of central Scotland.

is a seaside village in , in central Scotland.

is the largest of a string of villages in in central Scotland that have been industrial since medieval times.

is a town in in the of Scotland, which grew up near its 12th C castle.

is a small town in in central Scotland.

The Lothians

Also Known As

I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel's sake. The great affair is to move.  

Explore Your World

Popular Destinations in Central Belt

Escape to a Random Place