Northwest Italy

Northwest Italy consists of four of Italy's regions: Piedmont, Liguria, Lombardy and Valle d'Aosta. To the east lies Northeast Italy, to the north is Switzerland and to the west France. The Italian Lake District is mostly in Northwest Italy.

Northwest Italy Photos


Popular Destinations

Milan is financially the most important city in Italy, and home to the Borsa Italiana stock exchange.

Esino Lario is a mountain village in the Esino valley, between Lake Como and Valsassina in the Province of Lecco, in the Lombardy region of northern Italy.

Turin, a large city of about one million inhabitants, is set in the Piedmont region of northwestern Italy, a one-hour drive from the French border and slightly more than that from the Mediterranean sea.


Lombardy or Lombardia is a northern region of Italy, and with 10 million people is the most populous one.

Liguria is one of the official regions of Northwest Italy, on the Ligurian Sea.

Piedmont is a region in the northwest of Italy, next to the border with France.

The Aosta Valley is a region of Italy in the Alps, where there are the highest mountains in Europe, including Mont Blanc, Monte Rosa and Gran Paradiso.

Northwest Italy

  • Location:  ,
  • Latitude of center:  45° 30' (45.5°) north
  • Longitude of center:  9° east
  • Wikidata:  Northwest Italy

Northwest Italy Hotels

My Destination
Travel Dates

Maps of Northwest Italy

In Other Languages

For More Information

Thanks for Sharing

About Mapcarta. Site powered by Around Guides. Based on the page Northwest Italy. See this page's contributions. Text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License.
Photos provided by Flickr under the copyright of their owners. This product uses the Flickr API but is not endorsed or certified by Flickr. Please contact us if you'd prefer to remove your Flickr photos from Mapcarta.