Southern India

South India includes five major states in peninsular and the two island groups of in the Arabian Sea on the West Coast of India and in the Bay of Bengal on the East Coast of India.

Popular Destinations

, now known officially as Bengaluru, is the capital of the state of .

, is the capital of the southern state of .

is a cosmopolitan city in with a bustling commercial port.

, a state in , is known as a tropical paradise of waving palms and wide, sandy beaches.


, the land of Tamils, is a state in known for its temples and architecture, food, movies and classical Indian dance and Carnatic music.

is a state in that stretches from in the north to in the south.

is a state in . In 2014, it was split in two, with the northwestern half becoming the new state of .

is a state in . It is bordered by the states of to the north and north-west, to the west, to the north-east, and to the south and east.

Southern India Hotels

My Destination
Travel Dates

Southern India

Maps of Southern India

Other Names for Southern India

French: Inde méridionale, German: Südindien, Italian: India meridionale, Portuguese: Índia do Sul, Spanish: India del Sur
A good traveler has no fixed plans and is not intent on arriving.

Your World is Without Borders

Popular Destinations in India

Text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License, excluding directions and the map.
About Mapcarta. Thanks to Mapbox for providing amazing maps. Based on the page Southern India. See this page's contributions.